stillnordic.blogg.se

Fugees the score t-shirt
Fugees the score t-shirt





fugees the score t-shirt

The Score album dropped in ’96, and this was a phenomenal year for Hip Hop albums in general. To really understand the magnitude of greatness and caliber that Wyclef, Lauryn Hill and Pras were creating and delivering music at, let’s look at what else was happening that same year. Though their presence as a group in Hip Hop was short lived and the rap community only got to hear 2 projects, we were graced with one of the best Hip Hop albums of all time in The Score. Whatever the case may be, it stands as one of my can’t deny that the Fugees produced great music. Maybe it’s the almost scary intro music or the lyrics. Their second and last album, The Score, also included the single “Ready or Not.” Just when I thought they couldn’t grab my attention again, they did. When I think of them, I always think about their cover of Roberta Flack’s “Killing Me Softly.” They put a Hip Hop beat behind the classic and Wyclef added a “one time” that echoes through history. They combined soul, reggae and Hip Hop in a way that had not been done before. Wyclef Jean, Lauryn Hill, and Pras Michel made up this awesome supergroup. They pulled you in with their unique rapping styles accompanied with a voice that haunts you. The Fugees were a different kind of group. It’s always cool to look back some 20 years later and see that it still holds the same weight it did way back “Oooh La La La, It’s the way that we rock when we’re doing our thang” When you hear that chorus, you know who’s responsible. I knew then that this album was something special. Napster was taking off at the time so finding more songs (and the album for that matter) was short work. Naturally, I started looking up more stuff from them. That’s when I found out The Score was an album and the artists were The Fugees. I didn’t know what The Score was, but it was all made clear to me after catching a music video on 106 and Park. There was UGK’s first cassette tape and a black Fugees T-shirt with the cover of The Score on it.

fugees the score t-shirt

#Fugees the score t shirt full

The radio station was Hot 97.5 FM in Atlanta, Georgia, aside from whatever the initial prize was, there was a goody bag full of unreleased or independent albums and T-shirts. I don’t remember what the contest was, but here is what I do remember. In summer of 1996, I won something off the radio. I recognized songs I liked, but I often didn’t know who sang them. Let’s get into some stuff musically, I was late to the game. We gathered the team to discuss it today. The Score, released in 1996, remains one of the most critically acclaimed and loved albums of the mid-late 90s and is without a doubt, a classic. The New Jersey collective of Lauryn Hill, Pras, and Wyclef showcased their talents on their first album, but it would be their second release that truly set the tone for their legacy. Now, when talking classic Hip Hop, one group that comes to mind is the Fugees.







Fugees the score t-shirt